We had two general luncheon meetings of the Emeriti Faculty Association in 2010.  At these meetings , an invited noted speaker presented a lecture, followed by questions and discussion.  The meetings are very interesting and stimulating.  They were attended by 25-40 retirees. A light lunch was provided after the speaker. 


Following is a list of speakers and their topics:


January 20, 2010-  Leslie Z. Benet, Ph.D.  Professor and former Chairman of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, UCSF.  Individualized Patient Drug Dosing:  How Much is Reality- How Much is Hype?


April 6, 2010-  Susan Fisher, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences, and Faculty Director of the Sandler-Moore Mass Spectrometry Core Facility, UCSF.  Embryonic Stem Cell and Trophoblast Differentiation in Humans.


The Executive Committee of the UCSF EFA met on January 20, 2010, at which we had reports from the Academic Senate and Faculty Welfare Committees, CUCEA, TreasurerŐs reports, and  planned speakers for our general meetings, and other business.


Our President, Ernest Newbrun,  Henry Ralston, President-Elect, and Dorothy Rice, CUCEA Representative met with Chancellor Susan  Desmond-Hellmann on January 13, 2010 to discuss the Dickson Award.  She agreed to the release of funds for the award which has been accomplished.  Four awards will be given this year.  Chancellor Desmond- Hellman has also instituted a reception for June 15, 2010 for all retiring faculty to honor them and recognize their service to the university.  This is a change from previous years when many retirees just shut their doors at retirement after many years of service to UCSF. 






Four UCSF retirees recently received distinguished awards:  (1) Melvin M. Grumbach, M.D. ,Edward B. Shaw Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics, UCSF will receive the UCSF Medal on April 29, 2010 at the Founders Day banquet.  (2)   John Kerner, MD,  a World War II Veteran from California who participated in the Liberation of France, was awarded FranceŐs Legion dŐHonneur by President Nicolas Sarkozy during a special ceremony in Washington, DC.  (3)  Albert Jonsen, Ph.D. Professor of Ethics in Medicine at UCSF was the recipient of the Harvey M. Meyerhoff Award for Leadership in Bioethics from the Berman Institute of Bioethics, Johns Hopkins University.  (4)   M. Michael Thaler, M.D. received the Shwachman Award for Lifetime Achievement in Pediatric Gastroentrology and Nutrition at UCSF.


After four years of devoted service as President of the Emeriti Faculty Association, Ernest Newbrun will step down and Henry P. Ralston (Pete) will assume the Presidency.


The UCSF Emeriti Faculty Association has a new Administrative Assistant- Lindsey Smith ( 


We are looking forward to attending the joint CUCRA/CUCEA meeting on April 28 and 29 in Santa Barbara. 



Dorothy P. Rice

Representative to CUCEA