UCLA Office of the Vice Chancellor for Academic Personnel



Dear Provosts, Deans, and Emeriti Association Presidents:


UC San Diego and UC Irvine Professors Honored with

2014 Constantine Panunzio Distinguished Emeriti Award


The 2014 Constantine Panunzio Distinguished Emeriti Award honoring emeriti professors in the University of California system has been awarded to Professor Emeritus of Psychology Norman Anderson, UC San Diego, and Professor Emeritus of Political Science Rein Taagepera, UC Irvine.  Professors Taagepera and Anderson are the thirty-second and thirty-third UC emeriti professors to receive the Constantine Panunzio Award. Both awardees have especially long and notable records of research, teaching, and service to the University of California, their disciplines, and their communities.  The late Dr. Panunzio, a professor of sociology at UCLA for many years, has been described as the architect of the UC Retirement System and was particularly active in improving pensions and stipends for his fellow emeriti.  The award bearing his name was established in 1983 and includes a $5,000 prize. 


Norman Anderson


Professor Anderson was a founding member of UC San Diego’s Department of Psychology, joining the department in 1965, after initiating his UC career at UCLA in 1958.  He is an experimental psychologist whose contributions over a long and distinguished career span social psychology and cognition, and he is best known for his development of information integration theory.   He formally retired in 1992, but his four books published since that date attest that his research and scholarship continued unabated, as did his mentoring of graduate students and contributions to his department and his discipline.  His post-retirement work in support of graduate student life and research has been especially notable, including establishment of the Norman Anderson Lecture series in the UCSD Department of Psychology.  


Rein Taagepera


In 1970 Professor Taagepera joined UC Irvine’s Department of Political Science following a shift from his initial career as a physicist.  He is an internationally renowned expert in political parties and systems, and the recipient of the Johan Skytte Prize, often considered Political Science’s equivalent to the Nobel Prize.  He formally retired in 1994, but has continued to publish, teach and serve both UC and Tartu University in his native Estonia, where he served as founding Dean of Social Sciences.  His combination of empirical and theoretical publications in addition to the outstanding academic leadership at Tartu University for the past 25 years constitute a remarkable third career:  first a physicist, then a luminary career at UC Irvine as an innovator in political science, and then as THE founder and sponsor of modern political science in post-Soviet Estonia. 





Carole Goldberg

Chair, Constantine Panunzio Distinguished Emeriti Award Selection Committee

Vice Chancellor, Academic Personnel